• Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce Adds Four New Members to Its Board of Directors

    November 15, 2018


     November 15th, 2018
    Contact: Maureen Scallen Failor, President
     mscallenfailor@dcrchamber.com | 651.288.9201

    Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce
    Adds Four New Members to Its Board of Directors

    EAGAN, MN – The Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce today announces it has appointed four new members to its Board of Director. Janet Benton, Vice President Clinic Services for Twin Cities Orthopedics, attorney Jeffrey Ellis, Katie Misukanis, Government Relations Director for Rasmussen College, and John Padalino, Area Manager for Minnesota Energy Resources will join the board in 2019.  The four will join the organization’s leadership at a time of continued growth and change for the chamber and Dakota County.

    “We are extremely excited to be able to add new energy and leadership to our chamber and our board,” said Maureen Scallen Failor, President of the Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce.  “Janet, Jeff, Katie, and John each bring different perspectives and expertise to our group as we continue to support and advocate for the business community across Dakota County.”

    About the new members

    Janet Benton, Vice President Clinic Services, Twin Cities Orthopedics (TCO)
    Janet joined TCO in January 2017 as Director, Business Development. In that role, she oversaw relationships with referring provider groups, relationships with employer groups, new program development, growth and promotion, and certain strategic partnerships. She also supported TCO’s value-based care efforts and served as TCO’s representative at various community-based organizations, including Rotary and Chamber groups. Janet became Vice President Clinic Services at TCO in September 2018 and has strategic and operational responsibility for TCO clinics in the Northwest, West and South regions. Janet’s focus is on market area relationships and working directly with the TCO physicians and staff to create efficient and effective clinic operations. Prior to joining TCO, Janet held leadership roles at both Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Minnesota and Allina Health. 

    Janet holds a BA in political science and criminal justice from the University of South Dakota, a JD from the University of Iowa College of Law, and an MHA from the University of Iowa College of Public Health. She resides in SW Minneapolis with her husband Jordan and Newfoundland dog Cindy.   
    Jeff Ellis, Owner, The Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Ellis, PLLC
    The Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Ellis, PLLC is in Rosemount, Minnesota.  Since 2011, Jeff has focused his law practice on representing businesses and business owners in all manner of transactional matters, specializing in executive compensation for community banks throughout the country and corporate and estate planning work for clients locally.  Prior to starting his firm, Jeff worked as in-house counsel for a leading executive compensation consulting practice and as an associate at regional and national law firms.

    Jeff is active in the Rosemount community.  He was a member of the Board of Directors of the Rosemount Area Athletic Association from 2013 to 2017.  Jeff has been a member of the Rosemount Rotary Club since 2013 and was the Club President in the 2017-2018 Rotary year.  Additionally, he is a founding director of the Rosemount High School Foundation and currently serves as its Vice Chair.

    Katie Misukanis, Government Relations Director, Rasmussen College
    Government Relations Director for Rasmussen College, a post she has held since 2011.  She has served as Chair of the Minnesota Career College Association (MCCA and the Wisconsin Council of Independent Education. Her time with Rasmussen also includes her work as Director of Admissions for Rasmussen’s Lake Elmo/Woodbury campus. In her current role, she acts as a liaison for the college to local officials and state legislators in Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Dakota and Kansas. She also advises Rasmussen’s policy decisions and actions.  Katie has served on the MN Chamber’s Education and Workforce Committee; as Chair of the Eden Prairie Chamber of Commerce and on several local chambers’ government affairs committees.  Prior to Rasmussen, Katie was in sales at Thomson Reuters and the Bureau of National Affairs.  

    Katie received her B.A. degree in Business Management and Political Science from the College of Saint Benedict and her Master’s in Public Administration from Gannon University.

    John P. Padalino, Area Manager, Minnesota Energy Resources
    John P. Padalino was named area manager of Minnesota Energy Resources in October 2017 and added manager – external relations in April 2018.

    In his current role, Padalino is charged with the overall management of Minnesota Energy Resources’ state field operations, with regional offices in the four corners of Minnesota, including Rosemount, Rochester, Albert Lea, Cloquet, and Bemidji. He also is leading the company’s external relations and economic development efforts.
    Before his current role at Minnesota Energy Resources, Padalino served as manager – customer services for Minnesota Energy Resources and Michigan Gas Utilities since March 2011, with responsibility for support of the dispatch and call center operations in those states.

    Padalino started in the utility industry in May 1992 and has held a wide variety of field operations management, external relations and staff-supporting functions throughout the state of Michigan.
    Prior to joining the company, Padalino worked in the meatpacking industry, specifically in plant production and inventory planning.

    Padalino earned his bachelor’s degree in English literature and communications from Michigan State University, in East Lansing, Michigan.
    About the Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce
    Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce is committed to building a stronger regional business community. We steadfastly serve the cities of Eagan, Farmington, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Rosemount, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul, along with Castle Rock, Empire Eureka, and Hampton Townships. Explore the many ways we’re leading the way to make the Dakota County area the best possible place to live work and grow business at dcrchamber.com.


    Maureen Scallen Failor, President
    (651) 452-9872
  • Upcoming Events