• Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce Announces Winners of Its Annual Business Excellence Awards

    November 14, 2018
    November 14th, 2018
    Contact: Diane Mavis Director of Programs and Events
    dmavis@dcrchamber.com | 651.288.9202

    Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce Announces Winners of Its Annual Business Excellence Awards

    Annual event recognized and honored local businesses, business professionals, and volunteers that have experienced growth and success in 2018

    EAGAN, MN – The Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce had its annual Business Excellence Awards Friday, November 9th, 2018.  The annual event is an important opportunity to recognize local businesses, non-profit organizations, and individuals for their outstanding work and impact they have on the community.

    “So many businesses and individuals do such great things for this community without seeking attention for themselves,” said Maureen Scallen Failor, president of the Dakota Regional Chamber of Commerce.  “The awards are our chance to highlight them and to show our gratitude to them for helping make Dakota County a great place to work and live.  It is inspiring to learn more about each winner and they collectively show the strength and character of this community in a very unique and personal way.”

    The Business Excellence Awards recognize the dedicated individuals who are making a positive difference in their community every day. It is rare that these individuals, companies, and organizations get the recognition that they truly deserve. The celebration is a way to raise awareness of these accomplishments, help the community learn more about the impact individuals are having, and celebrate the success of key local for-profit and non-profits.

    Two of the five categories recognize an individual who has continuously made an impact on their community over the years. This year, those individuals are Peggy Johnson, who was recognized for her exemplary service in the community with the Above and Beyond Award, and Scott Swenson who was recognized for his leadership, mentorship, and business acumen with the Legacy award.
    “With so much happening here in Dakota County, this event gives us all a chance to learn more about the special people and organizations who are setting an example for others to follow,” said Emily Bohmbach, Senior Manager of Partnership Activation for the Minnesota Vikings and chairperson for the 2018 event committee. “From the entrepreneurs who turn ideas into thriving businesses to the non-profits finding a way to positively impact other people’s lives, the awards and the event is inspiring.”
    Local businesses and business professionals were recognized in five different categories. Below are the businesses or individuals who won in each category:

    • Business Excellence

      • Large Business Award

        • Minnesota Vikings

      • Small Business Award

        • Think Mutual Bank – Eagan

    • Community Impact Award

      • The Open Door

    • Above and Beyond Award (Community Leadership)

      • Peggy Johnson – Dakota Electric Association

    • Legacy Award

      • Scott Swenson – Home Federal Savings Bank

    About the Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce
    Dakota County Regional Chamber of Commerce is committed to building a stronger regional business community. We steadfastly serve the cities of Eagan, Farmington, Lilydale, Mendota, Mendota Heights, Rosemount, Sunfish Lake, and West St. Paul, along with Castle Rock, Empire Eureka, and Hampton Townships. Explore the many ways we’re leading the way to make the Dakota County area the best possible place to live work and grow business at

    Diane Mavis, Director of Programs & Events
    (651) 452-9872
  • Upcoming Events